Five questions to Daniel Rennie-Martin

SUMO Cannabis

Today, we are very proud to introduce you to Daniel Rennie-Martin, the Master Grower of SUMO Cannabis!

What does the SUMO Cannabis project mean to you?

Being appointed the Master Grower for SUMO as a start-up company preparing to achieve licensing is an amazing opportunity. With SUMO very much in its infancy, there is so much room to grow (no pun intended) and many avenues for business exploration.⁠

Tell us an unusual fact about you or your past career?

Prior to my work in the cannabis industry, I have worked various jobs, developing my experience as a youth/teenager. One job that has stuck with me over the years was working for Dickie Dee ice cream bicycle services. For three summers from when I was 14, I woke up as early as 5:00am, drove my bike to the shop where we would load up the carts and prepare for deployment throughout Montreal to satisfy the public with frozen treats. I’ve had the pleasure of working at concerts, festivals such as Osheaga and heavy MTL, Alouette games and many more exciting events. Some aspects of the work were extremely demanding on the body but ultimately provided me with great experience at such a young age.⁠

If you had to describe your role within SUMO in one word, it would be…?
I would consider myself the ‘swiss army knife’ here at SUMO. I hold a wide array of plant knowledge, production practices, and cultivation techniques/framework.⁠

If you could meet someone famous, anyone, who would it be and why?
If I could meet anyone in the world (not necessarily well-known), it would be my daughter who is due to be born in December 2021. I am so incredibly excited to become a father and to bring a new human being into this world with my partner Emily.⁠

If you had to eat just one food for the next month, what would it be and why?

I care very much about health and wellness. Given I’d hold a pass for one month and that my health would not be negatively affected, it would be all-you-can-eat Korean BBQ in rotation with Lebanese cuisine until I burst like a balloon!⁠

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Cinq questions à Daniel Rennie-Martin

SUMO Cannabis

Aujourd’hui, nous sommes bien fiers de vous présenter Daniel Rennie-Martin, le maître cultivateur de SUMO Cannabis!

Que représente le projet de SUMO Cannabis pour toi?
Être nommé maître cultivateur pour SUMO est une opportunité incroyable. SUMO en est à ses tout débuts et il y a tellement de place pour grandir ainsi que de nombreuses avenues à explorer.⁠

Apprends-nous un fait inusité sur toi ou ta carrière passée?
Un des emplois que j’ai occupé et qui a été marquant a été celui de service de crème glacée à vélo pour Dickie Dee. Pendant trois étés, de 14 ans à 17 ans, je me réveillais à 5 h du matin, j’enfourchais mon vélo jusqu’au magasin où nous devions charger les chariots/vélos et je me préparais à sillonner les rues de Montréal afin de satisfaire les envies de friandises glacées. J’ai eu un grand plaisir à travailler lors des concerts et festivals tels qu’Osheaga et Heavy MTL, les parties des Alouettes et bien d’autres événements. C’est un travail exigeant, mais qui m’a permis d’acquérir une bonne expérience de travail à un si jeune âge!⁠

Si tu devais décrire ton rôle au sein de SUMO en un seul mot, ce serait…?
Couteau-suisse! Je possède un large éventail de connaissances sur les plantes, les pratiques de production et les techniques de culture.⁠

Si tu pouvais rencontrer une personne connue, n’importe laquelle, ce serait qui et pourquoi?
Si je pouvais rencontrer quelqu’un qui n’est pas nécessairement connu, ce serait ma fille, qui doit venir au monde en décembre 2021. Je suis incroyablement excité à l’idée de devenir père et d’apporter un nouvel humain dans ce monde en compagnie de ma partenaire Emily.⁠

S’il fallait que tu manges une seule chose pour le prochain mois, ce serait quoi et pourquoi?
Je me soucie beaucoup de la santé et du bien-être. Mais, en imaginant que j’aurais ce laissez-passer pour un mois et que ma santé ne serait pas affectée, je choisirais les barbecues coréens à volonté en rotation avec de la cuisine libanaise, jusqu’à ce que j’éclate!⁠

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin